Layout

Monday, April 18, 2011

Christmas Eve Eve

So, it's two days before the BIG day - we get to see our baby! I can't wait to see hands and feet and arms and legs and a beautiful beating heart! Oh, and yes - find out whether we are going to be buying blue or pink!

It's like Christmas Eve Eve here! Not sure that I am going to be able to sleep over the next two nights! Nah, I take that back. I can always sleep!

On a different topic, the other night Carson laid halfway on my stomach and apparently squished the baby because it moved to the other side of my stomach. I swear, it must have been its head that I could feel because it was hard and round and pretty big - so it must have been the head! And as soon as I started to press on it, I called Jeremy over to feel it, and he did. Immediately after, the baby decided to move yet again.

I am feeling the baby move every single day - and am thinking that we could occasionally feel it from the outside, but have not felt it yet. I can't wait until Wednesday so that I can stop calling the baby "it" and call it "he" or "she" - but hoping "he"!

The painter is also coming tomorrow and painting our bedroom, our bathroom, and Brooke's new big girl bedroom! I can't wait to get the house in order again. I think it's going to look great! I might even post pictures ;) Brooke's furniture is being delivered on the 28th. We also ordered a wall decal for her room, and I can't wait to put it up - but it says that you can't put it up on freshly painted walls and recommends to wait 3 weeks until you put it on. 3 weeks? Seriously? I am not that patient at all.

I guess my next post probably wont' be until Wednesday...and then it will be officially known whether we are having a boy or girl!!

Saturday, April 9, 2011

Soccer Mom and Dramatic Boo-Boo

Soccer Mom

If you have read previous posts in my blog, you know that we need a new car for a growing family. After many discussions, and a long heart to heart with myself, I decided a mini van was the way to go. But, I told Jeremy that if I were to get a minivan - I wanted one that would make me happy. So, I asked for a 2008 Grey Honda Odyssey with leather and a DVD player that had under 50K miles on it. So, we found one and he went and got it.

I still don't like the idea that I drive a minivan, but am already falling in love with the practicality of the vehicle. I love that Brooke has her own little seat and sits up higher so she can see out of it, and that she feels like she is on top of the world when she's riding in it. She can climb in and out of it herself, which I know that she likes as well.

We got in the car yesterday and she said "Are we taking the new car, Mommy?". I told her that we were. She then stated "We are not taking the red car". I told her no. Then she said "Did Daddy buy this car for you, Mommy?". I laughed and told her that he did. She asked me if I like my new car and I told her that I didn't like it very much, so she then said "You like driving the red car better". I told her that I did. I laughed at that little conversation we had. I thought it was very cute.

So, after driving my van for two whole days, I can see how I will eventually love it. Once I get over the idea that I drive a minivan.

Dramatic Boo-Boo

Before bedtime tonight, Brooke and I went out and visited with the neighbors. She was in one driveway playing with all the kiddos, and I was in the driveway next door talking with the adults. She would sit and play with the kids for about five minutes and then come over to me just to say hi or something else silly, and then would go back and play with the girls. I think she just wanted to make sure I was still there. It was very adorable!

On her fourth trip running next door, I saw her take a fall. I ran over to her and picked her up. She was crying, crocodile tears included. I asked her where she hurt, and she said "right here" pointing to her knee. It was all skinned up, as I figured it would be. I asked her if she wanted to go home and get it cleaned up, and I was really surprised when she said yes. I thought that she would have wanted to play a little more.

So, we went home, and I cleaned it out with a wet washcloth. Per her request, I put some "medicine" AKA neosporin on it, and then a band-aid on each knee. She got up, and then started to walk into her room to put on her pajamas. She was walking like an 80 year old woman who just had a double knee replacement. It was very pathetic looking! Then, her band-aid started to come off, and she told me that "It hurt, it hurt" and requested that the band-aids be taken off. So, I took them off. She talked to her Daddy before bed and she started crying all over again because she was telling him about how she was running and then she fell and get some boo-boos.

Through this whole event, I tried to hold back the laughter as the little girl was hurting from a slight fall. She was being very dramatic about the whole thing, and I didn't want to make it a big deal, but I also wanted her to know that I was there for her.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

Boy or Girl?

Well...it's overwhelming. Practically everyone says boy. Here's the "official" list (to be updated as more people submit their guess)

BOY
Mommy
Grandma (Danielle's Mom)
Grandpa (Danielle's Dad)
Aunt Paige
Aunt Patti
Aunt Sharon
Aunt Wendy
Aunt Linda
Nana (Jeremy's Mom)
Karina
Travis
Aunt Jenn
Michelle
Pop (Jeremy's Dad)
Nanny
Poppop
Great Grandpa

GIRL
Daddy
Big Sister Brooke
Dana
Jake
Uncle Chris
G.G.
Aunt Mimi
Great Grandma Ann

Monday, March 28, 2011

New things since last post

I had another doctor's appoinment for baby #2. Everything was great - doctor found the heartbeat using the doppler, and the rate was around 150bpm. I always love hearing my baby's strong heartbeat. The doctor keeps telling me that I am making his job easy - I go in there, rarely have any questions for him, we listen to the heartbeat, and then leave. Pretty easy! Next appointment is April 20th when we find out the sex of the baby! Really looking forward to that!

I do, however, need to talk to the doctor next time I go in. I have been experience heart palpatations. I assume that they are the same ones that my mother and sister and Aunt Patti get - benign MVP's. I have felt these occasionally in the past, but not often. However, over the last few weeks of pregnancy, I have felt this palpatations much more often. Last Saturday, they were really bad. I don't think there is anything to be concerned with - I just think that I need to mention it to my doctor.

I dropped Brooke off at Grandma and Grandpa's house the other weekend so Jeremy and I could go out and look at furniture for a few hours. When we got there, she was talking about going swimming in their pool - but we told her that it was too cold, and that the pool wasn't open and that she needed a bathing suit. As I was walking out the door, she told me she wanted a pink bathing suit. Apparently, she thought I was leaving to go and get her one! When I came back from furniture shopping, Dad kept telling me that Brooke was saying something all afternoon, but they couldn't understand her. They said it sounded like Blue Cheese. I had no clue what he was talking about until Brooke looked at me and said something about going swimming and her "boot seat". Apparently, she couldn't remember the words bathing suit, so she said boot seat instead. I thought this was really cute.

We went to see Disney Princesses on Ice at Rupp Arena this past weekend. Brooke loved seeing all the princesses come out and sing and dance on the ice. Her favorite was snow white. She was very well behaved - sat in her seat the entire time, and watched the show. I was really amazed at how well she behaved...especially for a two year old. But, I have to say - she really does listen and behave quite well. She's going to have a busy upcoming few weeks - the circus is next weekend, and then Sesame Street Live is the weekend after that. I hope she behaves at the next events as well as she did this past one!

Jeremy and I have been out shopping for new cars....and boy oh boy has it been a task. For whatever reason, I don't want a minivan. I am not sure if I am trying to hold onto my youth, if I don't want to be a "soccer mom", or what. I know there is no logic behind my reasoning - because me reason for not getting a minivan is just because I DONT WANT ONE. My logical side of me (which prevails most of the time) says that a minivan is the way to go. I know this. I should listen to Logical Danielle. So why can't I? Not sure. Maybe I need to seek professional help? Not sure. Maybe I just need to suck it up and get a stupid minivan and call it a day. Not sure.

All's I know - I don't want a minivan. I swore to myself up until three months ago that I would NEVER drive a minivan. Now, logical danielle is shining through, and the thought is being disgustingly considered.

When Jeremy and I went out this past weekend and looked at cars, my pregnancy emotions got the best of me. We looked at a Honda Pilot, and when I realized that it was not a vehicle that I really wanted, I cried. I cried because I saw a minivan in my future. I cried because I didn't want a minivan. After a few minutes, Jeremy calmed me down, and we decided to look at a few other places. He looks at me again, sees me crying. He asked why I was crying....it was because I saw a stupid minivan. Then, my crying became laughter. Wow, thank you pregnancy hormones!! But, logical, realistic, practical Danielle knows that I am being ridiculous. And maybe, for some reason, this is my last stand to be irrational, unrealistic, and impractical? I don't know.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Peanuts

I was getting Brooke ready for bed this evening, and changing her clothes. She still sleeps in a pull up, even though she stays dry at night about 90% of the time, but I am just not ready to clean up a mess in the middle of the night! So, I was putting her pull up on, and she had her hands all over her private parts. I told her to get her hand out of her vagina. We talk about her private parts and what all girls have. I turn around and ask her what Daddy has. She immediately said "I don't know", and then holds up her little pointer finger, says "I know! Peanuts!!". I really have no idea where she got that from - I assume that she picked that up from school, because we have only told her one time (a long time ago) what Daddy's private parts were called.

When she said Peanuts, I died laughing. I thought it was absolutely hilarious that she said that. I knew that it had to go on the blog. I love that little girl.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Oh Sh!t and Butterflies??

Jeremy and I really need to watch our mouth! I was driving home today from Randy and Pam's for Jacob's 14th birthday, and Brooke was taking off her shoes and socks in the back seat of the car. She took her socks and put one of them on her hands. She tried to put the other one on her other hand, but couldn't...so she said "Oh, Sh&t!". I turned around and asked her what she just said - and she repeated exactly what I thought I had heard. I told her that we don't say that word and how it was not nice....but we shall see if/when it happens again.

Every once and a while, I will get these little butterfly feelings...and I wonder if it's the baby. I am only 13 weeks and two days, but I swear I am feeling the baby! It has only happened about once a day for the last two or three days, and I don't remember quite feeling these types of flutters with Brooke. Feeling her move for the first time was more like popcorn popping. This is more like butterflies. Not sure if I just missed this stage of pregnancy with Brooke because I wasn't looking for this type of feeling...or I could be totally making this feeling up right now. I have no idea. I would like to think that what I am feeling is truly coming from the baby...but I am just not sure yet.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Boy or Girl???

So from the very beginning, I have asked Brooke whether or not she was going to have a baby brother or a baby sister. At first, she would say whatever you said last. From there, it went to baby brother all the time, and now it's at baby sister all the time. Jeremy is convinced that his little swimmer was another X, and this baby will be a girl. I am not quite convinced that this is his "gut" feeling, but rather a feeling so that when the ultrasound tech says "girl", he won't be disappointed. I have that same problem. I want a boy so badly, that I am picturing myself with a little boy in the future. I see us playing with dump trucks and making mud pies together....but again, I don't know if this is my gut - or if this is just my sub conscious thinking about the boy I want so badly.

I think that Jeremy and I both want a boy so badly because this will be our last baby (at least according to Jeremy). Of course, as this goes without saying, we want the baby to be healthy, happy, have 10 fingers and 10 toes, etc...but if he can have the right "male" parts, we would be thrilled!

Another reason I think boy, is because this pregnancy is so different from the last in a lot of ways. When I was pregnant with Brooke, I craved sweet things...now I really could care less about them. With this pregnancy, I want sour or spicy stuff...the more vinegar it has in it, the more I want it!! First pregnancy: wanted mexican all the time. Second pregnancy: yuck to mexican food! First pregnancy: not really nauseaous Second pregnancy: more nauseaous, but tolerable

So, now comes the fun part. I want to know what everyone thinks we are having. So, either leave a comment....post something to my FB wall, send me a text, or next time you see me, just let me know what you think! I am curious as to what everyone else's "gut" says!