Layout

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Peanuts

I was getting Brooke ready for bed this evening, and changing her clothes. She still sleeps in a pull up, even though she stays dry at night about 90% of the time, but I am just not ready to clean up a mess in the middle of the night! So, I was putting her pull up on, and she had her hands all over her private parts. I told her to get her hand out of her vagina. We talk about her private parts and what all girls have. I turn around and ask her what Daddy has. She immediately said "I don't know", and then holds up her little pointer finger, says "I know! Peanuts!!". I really have no idea where she got that from - I assume that she picked that up from school, because we have only told her one time (a long time ago) what Daddy's private parts were called.

When she said Peanuts, I died laughing. I thought it was absolutely hilarious that she said that. I knew that it had to go on the blog. I love that little girl.

Sunday, March 13, 2011

Oh Sh!t and Butterflies??

Jeremy and I really need to watch our mouth! I was driving home today from Randy and Pam's for Jacob's 14th birthday, and Brooke was taking off her shoes and socks in the back seat of the car. She took her socks and put one of them on her hands. She tried to put the other one on her other hand, but couldn't...so she said "Oh, Sh&t!". I turned around and asked her what she just said - and she repeated exactly what I thought I had heard. I told her that we don't say that word and how it was not nice....but we shall see if/when it happens again.

Every once and a while, I will get these little butterfly feelings...and I wonder if it's the baby. I am only 13 weeks and two days, but I swear I am feeling the baby! It has only happened about once a day for the last two or three days, and I don't remember quite feeling these types of flutters with Brooke. Feeling her move for the first time was more like popcorn popping. This is more like butterflies. Not sure if I just missed this stage of pregnancy with Brooke because I wasn't looking for this type of feeling...or I could be totally making this feeling up right now. I have no idea. I would like to think that what I am feeling is truly coming from the baby...but I am just not sure yet.

Thursday, March 10, 2011

Boy or Girl???

So from the very beginning, I have asked Brooke whether or not she was going to have a baby brother or a baby sister. At first, she would say whatever you said last. From there, it went to baby brother all the time, and now it's at baby sister all the time. Jeremy is convinced that his little swimmer was another X, and this baby will be a girl. I am not quite convinced that this is his "gut" feeling, but rather a feeling so that when the ultrasound tech says "girl", he won't be disappointed. I have that same problem. I want a boy so badly, that I am picturing myself with a little boy in the future. I see us playing with dump trucks and making mud pies together....but again, I don't know if this is my gut - or if this is just my sub conscious thinking about the boy I want so badly.

I think that Jeremy and I both want a boy so badly because this will be our last baby (at least according to Jeremy). Of course, as this goes without saying, we want the baby to be healthy, happy, have 10 fingers and 10 toes, etc...but if he can have the right "male" parts, we would be thrilled!

Another reason I think boy, is because this pregnancy is so different from the last in a lot of ways. When I was pregnant with Brooke, I craved sweet things...now I really could care less about them. With this pregnancy, I want sour or spicy stuff...the more vinegar it has in it, the more I want it!! First pregnancy: wanted mexican all the time. Second pregnancy: yuck to mexican food! First pregnancy: not really nauseaous Second pregnancy: more nauseaous, but tolerable

So, now comes the fun part. I want to know what everyone thinks we are having. So, either leave a comment....post something to my FB wall, send me a text, or next time you see me, just let me know what you think! I am curious as to what everyone else's "gut" says!

Friday, March 4, 2011

Alligator, Book Reading, and Starting to Show

The other day, I had a terrible headache. Jeremy thought it might be from dehydration, so I pounded a Gatorade right before bed. I left the Gatorade bottle in the den on the table. The next morning when Jeremy came home, Brooke had her sippy cup of water right next to my empty Gatorado bottle. She looked at Jeremy and said "There's my water, Daddy. There's Mommy's Alligator". I cracked up laughing, but Jeremy was completely lost. Apparently, Brooke didn't remember the word Gatorade. But, the word "Gator" stuck. So she called my Gatorade - Alligator. I told my mom this story, and she told me that I should send it to Gatorade for them to use as a commercial. It was so cute.

Brooke is going through another phase where she loves reading books. She will pick up a book and read it to herself. The other day, she picked up a Dora book, looked at the first page and said "Hi, I'm Dora, and this is my friend, Boots". It was really cute. I love listening to her read to herself.

Well, it's official. I am starting to show. It's crazy how it happens all of a sudden, but it's certainly happening. There is much more roundness going on in the tummy area! Overall, I am starting to feel much better and not as sick as I was. I still have to keep food in my stomach, but it's not nearly as bad as it was before. I am officially 12 weeks today - almost out of the first trimester! It's so hard to believe that I have known I was pregnant for 8 weeks already. Time is flying!!

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

From Hmmmm? to Cuz!

Whenever someone asked Brooke a question that she either A) Didn't understand or B) Didn't know the answer to she would say "Hmmmmmmmm?". During the last few weeks, she has not said HMMMMM as much, but instead would say "Cuz". So if I asked her "Why did you do that", she would answer, "Cuz". I guess I don't realize what I say and how much I say it until my daughter starts to repeat it.

At least I don't have a mouth of a sailor like Jeremy! I am just waiting for Brooke to drop the F Bomb one day! I know it's going to happen. She's already said "Jesus Christ" (thanks Jeremy!). When she said that - I told her very sternly that she couldn't say that. She put her head down and got all pouty with me. That child really knows how to lay it on thick. She makes me feel bad sometimes! But, the letter of the law must be learned and obeyed - so Mommy and Daddy discipline! I started to write more about discipline, but decided not to go down that route. Everyone reading this blog knows that Brooke is very well behaved. She listens. She respects what we say. And I firmly believe that is because we have rules and expect them to be followed at all times. I will leave it at that....

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Belly Butt

So Brooke calls anything that is a "button", a "butt". She says "Press the Butt" or "Touch my Belly Butt". I think it's the cutest thing ever because it reminds me of the part in Finding Nemo when Nemo touches the butt instead of the boat.

Jeremy always wants me to correct her and say that it's a belly button, but I just can't help not correcting her. I love when she says it!!

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

Funny things

I have posted some of these things on my facebook page, so if you read both - sorry for the duplication.

The other day I got Brooke out of the bathtub and went into her room to put lotion on her. I got her all lotioned up, and then she started to run around and play in her room. I told her to hurry and come here because it's so cold, and she looked at me and said "Chill....have patience". I use the line "have patience" all the time. Jeremy uses "chill". So smartie pants Brooke puts them both together and tells me to chill and have patience. It was really cute. So, since this point, she has told me to have patience several times.

A few days after the Chill...have patience episode, Brooke, Jeremy, and I were in the kitchen. Jeremy and I were cooking dinner, and Brooke was just playing in there. I was chopping hamburger meat, so my back was to Brooke. I heard her say "Carson, sit. Carson, SIT". I didn't pay any attention to this because it is not unusual for her to play with Carson. Then Brooke proceeds to tell me that "Mommy, Carson ate it." I asked her what Carson ate. She told me that Carson just ate her booger! Apparently, she thought it would be a "treat" for Carson. I really don't understand her reasoning behind making Carson sit to eat her booger and then tattle on him!

Speaking of tattling - OH BOY! We are certainly in the stage of tattling. Mommy, Carson did this. Mommy, Daddy did this. She is constantly tattling on someone for something. I keep telling her to worry about her, and not worry about what everyone else is doing. But, this is a hard thing to teach. I don't want her to tattle over little things, but I do want her to tell me when BIG things happen or when really BAD things happen. It's a tough one to balance.

This past Saturday, I took Brooke to Grandma's house so that I could clean the house for the superbowl party. I pretty much dropped her off and left. I came back a few hours later, and told Brooke we needed to go home. She really didnt want to go home. I told her that we had pink cookies at home. She turned around to me and said "WHAT?!?!" and then immediately jumped in my lap and wanted to go home. You know it's really bad when I have to bribe my daughter with pink cookies in order to go home from Grandma's house.

Now speaking of superbowl...we had a superbowl party on Sunday. I told Brooke earlier that day that we were having a party today. She was very excited for the party. Everytime Carson barked that day, she would jump up and yell "The party is here!". She was really excited to have a party....but I think she just thought party equals cake. Fun times!

Now speaking of cake.....since Jeremy had to work on my birthday, we celebrated last night. He and Brooke made me a cake. Brooke got to pick the color of the icing and guess what they chose? PINK!! Big surprise, right? So I walk in the door yesterday from work, and Brooke meets me at the door. I couldn't even get out of the laundry room. She told me that it was my birthday and that that Daddy hid it. Daddy hid what - that's what I am thinking. She then tells me that Daddy hid the cake!

We went out to dinner last night for my birthday, and I asked Brooke what she wanted to eat. I asked her if she wanted Mac and Cheese. She turned around and said "And Roni". So, for dinner last night, she had "Mac and Cheese and Roni". I am just thankful that this place served the Roni with the Mac and Cheese. Some places don't!